Merging a blog spot and a website…

Standard

Yes, friends, it has been done. In the interest of consolidation, I, the greatest techno-duffer in history, have watched amazed as my two sites merged into one! People who visit my website will now be directed to my blog post—which will have the appropriate links to art, writing, and to other links. At least, this is the theory.

You are right in assuming that all this was not my doing. My talented daughter in law, Lynn, masterminded the entire operation… set it up… and then left the rest in my quaking hands. “It’s not going to be hard,” she comforted me as I stared at her like a deer in the headlights. “Just play with it and know that whatever mistakes you make can be erased!”

Perhaps ‘play’ isn’t the appropriate word. My path to techno-savvy has had many pitfalls. When I first set up my ‘Art’ link, I somehow published two identical sets of images. When I tried to correct this (i.e. delete one set of images), the computer instead made enormous images of the second set appear on the virtual page. I can swear that the beastly thing was laughing at me!  It took half an hour to finally delete and save the changes—after which I exited so quickly that the keyboard quivered.

That I have (and will) make mistakes is a given. “It will take time,” I have been told—which is an understatement if I ever heard one. So, friends who visit my new blog/website, be warned that all is not perfect but that I am working on it.

I have to admit that in comparison to working with technical matters, creating art is easy. For a piece of fiber art I need only to choose a background fabric and throw it on the floor then add and subtract suitable fabric. When all has been appliquéd to my satisfaction, I can add fine lines that will be machine embroidered! Certainly all this takes lots of time and energy, but it’s fun. Working with fabric has never made me grind my teeth or want to swear in ten different languages.

Let me introduce you to ‘Lovers,’ my latest creation. What, you don’t believe that trees can be star-crossed lovers, separated forever by an unforgiving stream? Trees are strong, ancient and wise beings who have seen humankind come and go underneath their branches. So, yes, “Lovers”—and here you can see that I am adding those fine lines to a soon to be finished work!

"Lovers"
“Lovers”

This part is really the icing on the creative cake. Much as a manuscript’s fourth draft is easy on a writer’s eyes, adding the final touches really makes a piece of art personal. Would that it were so with technical matters! And, speaking of that, it’s time to grit my teeth and  ‘play’ with my blog/web site again!

I have pressed a key

But the image disappeared!

Time to gnash my teeth!

Lovers

Lovers

About Maureen C. Wartski

I’m Maureen Wartski, writer, artist, wife, mother, grandmother; you can see that I have many of the bases covered. I was born in Ashiya, Japan, a (then) small town which lay cradled between sea and mountains. In the evenings, we would walk along the road that ran past Osaka Bay, and a great moon would rise out of the water to turn the world to silver. I’m told that my first words were, “Big moon!” All my life I have felt the tug to write something, draw something, put together something with fabric, string and color, and the urge to create has grown through the years. I suppose, then, that it’s a natural thing that this blog be full of the things that so many of you enjoy doing…drawing, making something with fabric, and writing. Yuri's Brush with Magic, my newest book for middle schoolers follows the adventures of a brother and sister, the magic of words, and the incredible magic of the natural world. I'd love to hear from you! You can send me a note at: maureen@wartski.org/ My blog is here: https://maureenwartski.wordpress.com/ Or friend me on Facebook!

9 responses »

  1. Maureen,
    “Lovers” is beautiful and so is the story it tells. I imagine those branches will overlap, their limbs touching even though their trunks are rooted on different sides of the stream.

    Congratulations on combining your website and blog. Don’t give yourself a hard time about needing help with your computer skills. Always surround yourself with skilled people. That makes for a smart business lady!

  2. Thank you for the encouraging words, Linda! I am still feeling my way… hopefully, it will all become clear in days to come! ‘Lovers’ thank you, too. Remember the story of Philamon and Bauchis who loved each other so much that they became trees after they died? I sort of got the idea from that old Grecian legebd….

  3. Dear Maureen,
    How wonderful that your website and blog are now intertwined beautifully. I am thankful that God sent Lynn, your daughter in law to help create this masterpiece.

    I am always amazed at your artwork.

    Always in awe of you,
    Joan

Leave a Reply

