It’s All About Heart…

Standard

“We live in a time when we have less and less personal contact,” she sighs. “With text messages and e-mails…even from my grandchildren I get fewer hugs these days.”

It’s true, isn’t it? In this electronic age, it’s far easier to reach for the smart phone and tap out a text than to phone a friend, never mind to sit down and write a letter.  Time is compressed during the busy week, and quiet talks, walks, a moment shared over a cup of tea—once easily slipped into our day—have become difficult.  When we do have time for a phone call or a visit, we surreptitiously glance at our watches. Time is running… and so are we.

Perhaps it’s true that this century, so different from its slower-paced predecessors, leaves little time for the things that used to matter. Not that all changes are bad—far from it. The lives of women have become enriched by possibilities that did not even exist when I was younger. One friend’s daughter will soon begin her internship and become a pediatrician. Another’s is a fine psychologist, and a third’s grand daughter is studying law. Our daughters in law have fine, rewarding careers. And men’s lives, too, have been made more meaningful as the genders reach across to each other in equality and with even more respect.

So, change is good. But some things do not change. Though the times around us move to a faster beat, the rhythm of our own hearts has not altered. The need for contact, the reach for support, the yearning for love and acceptance is within us all, as much a part of us as blood and DNA.

There’s a story here, of course. I have a dear quilting friend who was given a collection of old-fashioned fabrics by an elderly lady. After much thought and discussion, she cut and pieced these fabrics together into a bright and happy quilt for the giver’s birthday. “She cried,” she told us later. “She said that she had only owned one quilt, a quilt made by her grandmother, and that one was lost in a fire.”

Which was more special? The gift, the memory, or the caring that went into the making of that quilt? Probably all three, the last being at least  as important as the others.  For no matter how much the times changes, our world is still turning, and it will always turn better for friendship and love.

For in this moment

I hold not only your gift

But something of you.

"Flowers For Mom" 

 

 

About Maureen C. Wartski

I’m Maureen Wartski, writer, artist, wife, mother, grandmother; you can see that I have many of the bases covered. I was born in Ashiya, Japan, a (then) small town which lay cradled between sea and mountains. In the evenings, we would walk along the road that ran past Osaka Bay, and a great moon would rise out of the water to turn the world to silver. I’m told that my first words were, “Big moon!” All my life I have felt the tug to write something, draw something, put together something with fabric, string and color, and the urge to create has grown through the years. I suppose, then, that it’s a natural thing that this blog be full of the things that so many of you enjoy doing…drawing, making something with fabric, and writing. Yuri's Brush with Magic, my newest book for middle schoolers follows the adventures of a brother and sister, the magic of words, and the incredible magic of the natural world. I'd love to hear from you! You can send me a note at: maureen@wartski.org/ My blog is here: https://maureenwartski.wordpress.com/ Or friend me on Facebook!

16 responses »

  1. Hi Maureen,
    I really liked this blog. It reminded me of the relatives I have lost and of the quilt I have of my grandmother’s. I don’t use it, but have it tucked away. I do miss the slower pace we enjoyed as children and the times I spent on my grandparent’s farm with no TV and no telephone. I became very nostalgic!

  2. Maureen,
    I love the quilting story and the reminders to find time to make personal connections through calls, letters, and visits.

    During my husband’s present illness, we have had much attention from family and friends. I’m thankful for each gift of time–especially the prayers. Improved health is seen each day. These connections are priceless.

  3. I am so glad that your husband’s condition is improving! One of the nicest things about these busy modern times is the leaps that have been made in the medical field… you are always in my thoughts.

  4. How to take from what is new, better yet different that enhances our lives and our loved ones and how to salvage and treasure the gifts of the past — be they tangible objects, communications, or memories? You have managed to hone in on some of what we must savor expecially as we reach our later years. It is so important to share with children and grandchildren what has been most meaningful in our lives in the hopes that they too will be able to grasp and hold on to what and who are most significant.

  5. I am saving all the cards my children and grandchildren have sent to Al and I thru the years. I hope they will read these after I am gone and remember all the good times that were expressed in these cards.

    Love you quilt as usual!

Leave a Reply

