At last… the Sun!

Standard

 

Finally, the intermittent rain has given  way to glorious sunshine. The natural world is in full song, chant and rasp, and my own spirits have lifted so high that they incline to whimsy. Is it any wonder that I am writing about the many voices that praise the sun?

Old Sol has been venerated by many ancient civilizations. There is the ferocious Aztec sun-god Huizilopotchli, dashing Appolo who swung his fiery chariot over the Aegean Sea, radiant Ra of ancient Egypt, and several sun goddesses including the lovely Amaterasu of Japan. Certainly my own voice has been lifted skyward many times. Once when we were in Florence during the coldest, rainiest spring known to mankind, I was inspired to improve on the famous O Sole Mio by imploring;

Oh, Solo Mio, Where the heck are you? We are so freddo (cold), we’re turning blue!

But human beings are not the only ones to welcome the return of the sun after a prolonged absence. The cicadas, for example, are some of the most vocal praise-givers, and I can imagine what they are shouting now. Now, don’t think that I have completely fallen off the edge of reality. Writers for children do talk about (and to)  the creatures of the natural world, don’t they? So imagine with me that the cicadas, who have been glum and silent during several days of cool, rainy days have suddenly seen the bright rim of the sun poking through the clouds: Wowza! There she is, and about time, too!   Wake up the gang, Myrtle, and tell them to shake an antennae! Now, if everyone can please hit middle C…Yeah, you, too, Aunt Hortensia!

Cicadas in full chorus would wake anything and anyone out of a deep sleep. Thus imagine the crickets, who have morosely packed it in during the last rainstorm, emerging to a bright new (and noisy) dawn. Yoicks! Those blighters think they actually can play music! We need to roust up the chaps and do a little jamming of our own, what? Let’s show the cicadas what a real band can do!

            Birds, not to be undone would already have sent forth peals upon peals of birdsong. Chirps, carols, warbles, trills and coos waft down from the trees. What birds are thinking is simple—Oh, joy!—they cry, as they unfold their multi-layered cantatas.

Truly, we are creatures of the sun, and as much as we long for rain and praise the fall of precious water, we seem to be most drawn to the bright magic of Old Sol. On the Science Channel, lately, I heard that somewhere in the dim reaches of space there is a system of planets revolving around not one but two suns! But since life could scarcely hope to exist under such conditions, I expect that this would be too much of a good thing.

The songs of nature

            Fill the heart with such great joy

            Words are not needed.

Spring Sun

 

           

About Maureen C. Wartski

I’m Maureen Wartski, writer, artist, wife, mother, grandmother; you can see that I have many of the bases covered. I was born in Ashiya, Japan, a (then) small town which lay cradled between sea and mountains. In the evenings, we would walk along the road that ran past Osaka Bay, and a great moon would rise out of the water to turn the world to silver. I’m told that my first words were, “Big moon!” All my life I have felt the tug to write something, draw something, put together something with fabric, string and color, and the urge to create has grown through the years. I suppose, then, that it’s a natural thing that this blog be full of the things that so many of you enjoy doing…drawing, making something with fabric, and writing. Yuri's Brush with Magic, my newest book for middle schoolers follows the adventures of a brother and sister, the magic of words, and the incredible magic of the natural world. I'd love to hear from you! You can send me a note at: maureen@wartski.org/ My blog is here: https://maureenwartski.wordpress.com/ Or friend me on Facebook!

10 responses »

  1. Maureen,
    You have such a strong grasp of literature, different cultures, and mythology. I’m always amazed by what you share. Beautiful stories.

    I have been comparing this rainy summer to one from my childhood. My advantage then–I was on a trip traveling across country with my grandparents. When I returned, my mother wanted to know if it had rained nearly every day while we were gone. She was surprised to hear that we’d only seen rain a couple of times during the several weeks we were gone. In eastern NC, it had rained nearly every day that summer. I don’t recall any other summer as rainy as this one. I have felt sorry for the children. How could they get outdoors to play? Oh joyous day–the sun shines some!

    Maybe the frogs can rub their mold off in the dry grass. By the way, I laughed out loud when I read your comment about the frogs. Thanks. Humor helps bring a smile even when rain seems like it will never go away.

  2. Oh, linda, you bring joy to my heart! I actually like the rain… especially when I am snug in my bed and I hear the raindrops fall against the windows. But too many days without sun can make me cross! So… glorious, glorious sun!

  3. That quilt is GORGEOUS … and like you, I love the singing of all the critters. What is most fascinating is the crescendo and decresendo of the crickets/cicadas. As though there’s a conductor (perhaps a bullfrog?). The frogs are especially loud after the storms. We usually have supper out on the back porch and it’s great.

  4. Hi, Vijaya– thank you for your kind words about the wall hanging and for appreciating all of the nature musicians with me! I just came from our porch where the cicadas were performing. What a wonderful, noisy, ebullient concert! I am enthralled and energized!

  5. I love the rain also and when I first moved here, I asked my neighbor , doesn’t it ever rain here for all I saw was the that hot sun. She thought I was crazy.

  6. Dear Maureen,
    I hear the Cicadas on our return from church Saturday evening. They are not as many as the ones we had that were the 17 year locusts. I agree that they could wake up anything. They are quite stubborn and do not give up easily. We can learn from them. I love the painting. Thanks for sharing your beautiful look on life and living with us on this blog. You are a blessing.
    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

  7. And thank you, dear Joan, for your kind words! Cicadas are noisy, indeed, but they remind me of the cicadas that lived (by the thousands!) in my mother’s poplar trees. Japan doesn’t have many green areas, so her garden was home to every insect known to man. She loved them all except for the mosquitoes!

Leave a Reply

