Romantic Moon

Standard

It’s our  50th wedding anniversary this week, so perhaps it’s no wonder that I have the Moon in mind. The Moon has always been a symbol of romance and half a century of togetherness has taught us that romance is key.

We held hands and walked

            Under that silvery light

            Was it long ago?

So many songs have been written about earth’s celestial appendage, so many poems, myths and legends, that I lose count. When I was growing up in Japan, folk tales abounded with talk of the Moon … badgers and foxes worked their magic for good or ill under the full Moon; princesses and brave heroes prospered or perished under its silver light. Countless lovers have spooned under the June Moon or floated down Moon River or grumbled, like Lord Byron, that he would “No longer go a-roving by the light of the Moon.”

There are more sinister tales as well… for doesn’t the werewolf howl when the Moon is full? There is also Artemis the goddess who wreaks vengeance on those why spy on her mysteries and, closer to home, there’s that huge, copper Halloween Moon to delight small ghost and ghoulies.

I’ve often wondered how the Moon came to settle in our skies, and recently I learned that proponents of the ‘impact’ theory among the savants think that it was formed about 4.5 billion years ago when the Earth had a collision with a massive object. I have tried to imagine this: an immensity smashing into our Earth… a gush of  raw materials erupting from our wounded planet into space.   It’s believed by a preponderance of scientists that this ejected material became entrapped by Earth’s gravity and formed the Moon. Out of disaster, a new celestial body… that feeds my imagination even more than do the old myths and legends.

I have to admit, though, that as much as I like to gaze at our celestial sidekick, I wouldn’t want to go there. It’s tormented constantly by solar wind and moreover is cold, barren, and covered with powdery dust. But I can remember the day when Apollo 11 landed, and how I watched Neil Armstrong step out of his spacecraft with a mixture of goosebumps, excitement and awe. And, yes, a niggle of envy for here he was stepping onto an extraterrestrial body while I remained earthbound! There is romance in being a pioneer even of a cold and desolate marble in the sky.

There are pioneers and pioneers. My husband would, I know, give his eye teeth to journey into the unknown and would cheerfully hop onto any spaceship. I myself have always maintained that I’d only be tempted to go exploring where no (wo)man has gone before when shelter and hot running water were available. Still, the writer in me was thrilled when it was learned that there might be water ice on the Moon. A future Lunar colony? The Moon as a jumping-off point to the distant planets and perhaps the stars? After all, today’s science fiction usually is tomorrow’s science.

Meanwhile, the Moon reigns serenely in the night sky. Perhaps not forever, though, for there is a theory that the lady of the night sky is slowly… very slowly… separating itself from Earth. In billions of years (I said the process was slow), it will have moved far enough from us to cause tremendous climatic changes that will, among other things, turn Las Vegas into a land where darkness and unendurable cold will reign for part of the year.

But for now, here is the evening sky. “Moon rise,” my husband says, and there I see it– the pale yellow disk that glows with light as it floats effortlessly over the horizon. And as we watch together, I forget about science and astronauts and space and even time, and again am lost in the beauty and romance of the Moon.

Under silver light

            We hold hands, are young again…

            This is Moon Magic.

           

“Moon Silver”

About Maureen C. Wartski

I’m Maureen Wartski, writer, artist, wife, mother, grandmother; you can see that I have many of the bases covered. I was born in Ashiya, Japan, a (then) small town which lay cradled between sea and mountains. In the evenings, we would walk along the road that ran past Osaka Bay, and a great moon would rise out of the water to turn the world to silver. I’m told that my first words were, “Big moon!” All my life I have felt the tug to write something, draw something, put together something with fabric, string and color, and the urge to create has grown through the years. I suppose, then, that it’s a natural thing that this blog be full of the things that so many of you enjoy doing…drawing, making something with fabric, and writing. Yuri's Brush with Magic, my newest book for middle schoolers follows the adventures of a brother and sister, the magic of words, and the incredible magic of the natural world. I'd love to hear from you! You can send me a note at: maureen@wartski.org/ My blog is here: https://maureenwartski.wordpress.com/ Or friend me on Facebook!

18 responses »

  1. Your beautiful piece reminded me of a song that was popular when we were courting more than 50 years ago. It was “Luna Rosa”. Sooo romantic! You also remind me of the science fiction interest we share and how knowledge sometimes even bypasses the futuristic stories within which we have lost ourselves over the years. That quilt captures completely both the moon and its captivated couple. Love the ambiance that transports us to other places, times, and even worlds.

    Can’t wait to see you two and celebrate this milestone in your lives. Love, your mooning friend Fran

  2. Your writing is so tender and comforting, Maureen. I always hear your voice in my head as whispery, but throaty, and gently soothing. Congratulations on your anniversary. May you have many more, witnessing the marriages of great grandchildren. Sarah

    • Thank you, Sarah–I hope that your kind words come true! I am glad that you consider my voice soothing… my family has a different interpretation! 🙂 May we both walk under the gent;e moon for many, many years and savor her beauty!

  3. Congratulations on your golden jubilee! My husband and I take nightly walks under the moon after we put the children to bed. And my heart is full.

  4. Fifty years, wow! That’s wonderful and amazing. Congratulations! I adored this post–your prose, poetry, and quilts light up the world just as surely as the moon lights up the night.
    There’s lots of “moon magic” in my book, Refuge. I loved learning all about the moon and its phases and I’m so much more aware of its beauty than I ever was before, although I’ve always loved the moon. Just one more wonderful thing about writing to appreciate–how it expands our knowledge and appreciation of the world around us.

    • Thank you, Carole! I will look for your book, definitely and with great anticipation. I, too, have loved the Moon always… its mystery, its beauty. As a child I looked up at the night sky and kept wondering how it would be to live there. Even though I know it’s not a place for habitation, I can still dream….

  5. Besides being a quilter , your are also interested in science. We learn something new each time about you! See you tonight to wish you happy anniversary.

  6. Dear Maureen,
    Congratulations to you and your husband for love, acceptance, and always focusing on a common thread of coomfort for each other. Enjoy this day and hopefully many more years of wedded bliss together.

    Joan

Leave a Reply

