Time for Thanksgiving

Standard

Thanksgiving Day is a unique part of our heritage. I once tried to explain the holiday to a Japanese friend who looked puzzled. “But aren’t you thankful every day?” she asked. “For your life, for your family, for each season …”

She’s right, of course. Beside the all-important gifts of family and friendships that enrich us in so many ways, there are wonders throughout the year.

I’m thankful in springtime when grim old winter looses its hold, when birds build their nests and cautious green shoots poke their heads out of their winter beds.  In spring, inspiration is rampant, and I think… yes! This year I will write the story that has been bothering me for months. I will revise the novel I started two years ago. And there’s that mountain of fabric I bought and stored—somewhere. In spring I’m glad for energy and ambition which swell together with the fat buds on the trees.

Along with spring warmth

hope begins to stir and grow

like budding flowers.

Summer is no slouch, either. When spring green morphs into jade and emerald, and the sun is set on high, I tend to leave the story undone and toss aside the unfinished novel. I forget about finding that misplaced fabric and go outside to marvel at hummingbirds feeding  from the honey-cups of flowers. Dahlias, hollyhocks, roses all bloom with colors that dazzle the senses—and then comes the Fourth of July with its fireworks. How could I not feel grateful? And, look, here is the ocean splashing waves onto the beach, and the sea-gulls calling, and nests of sea turtle eggs waiting to be born. If spring beings inspiration, summer’s hands are teeming with life.

Headache slides away

With the gentle splash of waves

Cooling these hot feet.

And here comes autumn. With arms full of cooler nights, it cranks up the  chorus of insects and peepers and spreads magic amongst the leaves. Autumn calls up a harvest moon, not pale or silver but big and full, a great, golden circle of honey. When I draw in a deep breath, I swear moonlight tastes sweet.

So close, Golden Moon…

You seem to skim top of trees

On tonight’s journey.

Thanksgiving happens in autumn, which makes the season richer still, but not long afterward comes Old Man Winter with frosty breath that teases the poor, naked trees. Ice and snow and freezing rain are winter’s gifts, but I’m grateful for a warm house, food that warms the body, and family to love. Thinking of those who have none of these things and of the birds fluffing up their feathers against the cold, I gather cans of food for the food pantry and fill the bird feeders. Then, standing on the doorstep, I watch the pale sun painting the sky with crimson glory,  and I sit down once more at the computer to dream and write. In this season when the cold earth rests, inspiration can flow again, and once more I hope to write that story, finish the novel… and find that fabric!

Walking in the snow…

Feet are tingling with the cold

But the heart feels warm.

   Happy Thanksgiving to All!

About Maureen C. Wartski

I’m Maureen Wartski, writer, artist, wife, mother, grandmother; you can see that I have many of the bases covered. I was born in Ashiya, Japan, a (then) small town which lay cradled between sea and mountains. In the evenings, we would walk along the road that ran past Osaka Bay, and a great moon would rise out of the water to turn the world to silver. I’m told that my first words were, “Big moon!” All my life I have felt the tug to write something, draw something, put together something with fabric, string and color, and the urge to create has grown through the years. I suppose, then, that it’s a natural thing that this blog be full of the things that so many of you enjoy doing…drawing, making something with fabric, and writing. Yuri's Brush with Magic, my newest book for middle schoolers follows the adventures of a brother and sister, the magic of words, and the incredible magic of the natural world. I'd love to hear from you! You can send me a note at: maureen@wartski.org/ My blog is here: https://maureenwartski.wordpress.com/ Or friend me on Facebook!

12 responses »

  1. Beautiful imagery, Maureen! The world is indeed beautiful all throughout the year. It’s colors and changes make us want to be creative and make beautiful things ourselves. I think that’s where many of us writers and artists get our inspiration, as you have said. We have much to be thankful for in such a fabulous world!

  2. Dear Maureen,

    Once again your words create indelible images in my mind and heart. The seasons are represented by haiku and evocative prose as only you can create. You will be gratified to learn that on Tuesday I shared your poetry with a class of 1st, 2nd, and 3rd grade students in the River Valley Charter School. Their teacher chose the haiku of Feb. in some preview pages you once sent. They were transfixed and surprised me with their knowledge of poetry and haiku in particular. So you see your creations reach near and far, diverse cultures, various ages and searching minds. Happy Thanksgiving and much love. Your friend forever, Fran

  3. Happy Thanksgiving, Maureen.
    I am so glad to know you. You are beautiful inside and out. Your words and pictures have an aura of beauty, too. Thanks for sharing with us.

    May God bless you.
    Joan Y. Edwards

Leave a Reply

