Sandcastles

Standard

It was so windy that Mary Poppins would have made it into the sky without her umbrella. The wind was from the northwest, and its cold fingers slid down the back of my windbreaker as I walked the beach. I shivered both from the cold and from a vague sense of loss—summer had gone and with it the warmth and bustle of carefree holiday. Also, our once grand sweep of sandy beach was eroding, with each storm and hurricane taking a swipe from the retreating beachfront. Now, there was very little left. Storm surges and wind had beaten down the hopeful dunes that were just recovering from their last battering,   sea birds huddled like refugees on what remained of dry land, and even the pelicans, flying low over the incoming tide, looked depressed.

I was so intent on gloomy thoughts that I almost stepped on a sandcastle. Not just any castle, mind—this one was built like an Aztec temple, with carefully crafted steps etched along sloping sides and with seashells decorating the top of the pyramid.

Three teenagers in shorts and windbreakers were putting their finishing touches to their masterpiece. They grinned self consciously when I complimented them. “But why build it so close to the tide line?” I asked. “The tide is coming in—it will destroy this wonderful thing.”

The young people shrugged, and one of them said, “It’s okay. If it comes down, we’ll build something else tomorrow.”

They went back to work and I walked on admiring the optimism of youth. Not that they were the only ones to build sandcastles, for I have done my share. So have we all.  We paint or sculpt or write and pour our hearts into the work even though sometimes no one else seems to share our vision. Someday, we think, and we hope. Always, we hope.

But sometimes hope is hard to find—and here came those gloomy thoughts again. When hurricanes destroy the work of a lifetime, when death steals a beloved life, when sickness or misfortune or accident scars our spirit or when that manuscript comes back for the tenth time— what then?

In the cold darkness

Hard to light the candles

With frozen fingers.

The spirit of melancholy lingered with me throughout the day and  followed me into the next morning when I once again walked the beach. The wind had abated and the sky was an innocent blue. Silver fish were jumping, blissfully, unaware of hungry pelicans swarming above. Intent on watching them, I once more nearly stumbled on…

The sandcastle? That sandcastle? But yes, there it stood at the tide line. Part of its outer wall was missing, and incoming waves had blurred its steps, but the pyramid was solid, and shells still proudly adorned its crown.

Keep it in perspective,  I warned myself. Cool it. It’s just a sandcastle, not some celestial omen! But I remembered the youngsters who had shrugged away my dour predictions and gone ahead with their project, and knew that of course they had been right.

Away with gloomy thoughts! I thought. Loss and disappointment, great or small, touches every life, but we continue to thumb our noses at fate and persevere. Summer will come again with warm wind and a sun-dazzled beach. And in the meantime I have sand castles to build.

Cold, mighty ocean,

Here is one small sand castle

You could not destroy!


About Maureen C. Wartski

I’m Maureen Wartski, writer, artist, wife, mother, grandmother; you can see that I have many of the bases covered. I was born in Ashiya, Japan, a (then) small town which lay cradled between sea and mountains. In the evenings, we would walk along the road that ran past Osaka Bay, and a great moon would rise out of the water to turn the world to silver. I’m told that my first words were, “Big moon!” All my life I have felt the tug to write something, draw something, put together something with fabric, string and color, and the urge to create has grown through the years. I suppose, then, that it’s a natural thing that this blog be full of the things that so many of you enjoy doing…drawing, making something with fabric, and writing. Yuri's Brush with Magic, my newest book for middle schoolers follows the adventures of a brother and sister, the magic of words, and the incredible magic of the natural world. I'd love to hear from you! You can send me a note at: maureen@wartski.org/ My blog is here: https://maureenwartski.wordpress.com/ Or friend me on Facebook!

9 responses »

  1. Despite the incontrovertible knowledge of what lies ahead, hope springs eternal as well it must for the human will to persevere. The tides, the seasons, our progeny; that which ends also begins a process anew. As you walk the beach you experience it all through every sensation. We are mortals destined to know the global future while also encountering hope and beauty if only for an evanescent moment. Thank you dear friend for expressing it so well for us and bestowing on your readers a taste of existential immortality.

  2. Maureen,
    Oh, the lessons youth can teach us! I felt like I was there with you on your walks on the beach. Thanks for the reminder to keep the faith!
    Linda

  3. I wish you really were walking the beach with me! October is such a lovely month on the sea shore… the toes tingle in the cooling water, but I always feel calmed, refreshed, and (usually) inspired!

  4. Sorry your beach weather wasn’t as nice as mine in Myrtle Beach with temps of mid to high 70’s and lots of sun.

    Dorothy

Leave a Reply

