Welcome to my blog!

Standard

I’m Maureen Wartski, writer, artist, wife, mother, grandmother; you can see that I have many of the bases covered.

I was born in Ashiya, Japan,  a (then) small town which lay cradled between sea and mountains. In the evenings, we would walk along the road that ran past Osaka Bay, and a great  moon would rise out of the water to turn the world to silver.

I’m told that my first words were, “Big moon!”

All my life I have felt the tug to write something, draw something, put together something with fabric, string and color, and the urge to create has grown through the years. I suppose, then, that it’s a natural thing that this blog be full of  the things that so many of you enjoy doing…drawing, making something with fabric, and writing.

I was very young when I fell in love with words. My Uncle Harry is to blame for this… he who taught me to read out of a well-worn book of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare (with illustrations!) and who read aloud from Stevenson and Poe and Tennyson and Mallory in a lovely, mellifluous voice that kept me spellbound even before I understood everything he said.

Words. They are magic, you know? You can take a handful of them… common words that hang about the hedges like weeds… and toss them onto paper and create a universe far, far away. Pull a few of them out and the universe falls, but then great castles rise with knights and fair ladies and dragons. Brush them aside and the scene is clear for a story about a boy and girl who have a mother who’s very sick, and an aunt with whom they have to spend the summer, an aunt that they hate. My latest book, Yuri’s Brush With Magic is about such a brother and sister and about a magic brush and the magic of words and the incredible magic of the natural world.

I know that you have felt the pull of this magic, too, especially in dogwood season. This morning when I was taking my morning walk I realized that the woods around our house were full of dogwood, cultivated and wild. It was  almost—but not quite—beyond words to describe:

A froth of white lace

Embroiders gardens, pathways…

Dogwoods are awake.

 

 

About Maureen C. Wartski

I’m Maureen Wartski, writer, artist, wife, mother, grandmother; you can see that I have many of the bases covered. I was born in Ashiya, Japan, a (then) small town which lay cradled between sea and mountains. In the evenings, we would walk along the road that ran past Osaka Bay, and a great moon would rise out of the water to turn the world to silver. I’m told that my first words were, “Big moon!” All my life I have felt the tug to write something, draw something, put together something with fabric, string and color, and the urge to create has grown through the years. I suppose, then, that it’s a natural thing that this blog be full of the things that so many of you enjoy doing…drawing, making something with fabric, and writing. Yuri's Brush with Magic, my newest book for middle schoolers follows the adventures of a brother and sister, the magic of words, and the incredible magic of the natural world. I'd love to hear from you! You can send me a note at: maureen@wartski.org/ My blog is here: https://maureenwartski.wordpress.com/ Or friend me on Facebook!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

